Would you want a book with missing pages?

Is your Bible Catholic? This sounds like a silly question but I mean it in all seriousness. I asked because there are so many versions of the Bible, and it is hard to tell them apart. Most people don’t understand the difference between a Kings James Bible, Protestant Bible, and the New American Standardized Bible.

What prompts this question was when I was asked, “What is the Pillar and Foundation of Truth?” I thought for a moment and answered, “Jesus.” But I was wrong. What would you have said?

I learned that the Pillar and Foundation of Truth is the Church. In 1 Timothy 3:14-14 it states “I am writing these things to you, hoping to come to you before long; but in case I am delayed, I write so that you will know how one ought to conduct himself in the household of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and support of the truth.”

What church is Paul talking about in this verse? Paul is referring to the Catholic Church, the church founded by Jesus Christ. Through the Catholic Church, along with the teachings of the Bible, we have the resources necessary to understand “truth” and fullness of Christ.

I want you to understand the importance of the Church because it practices and perpetuates the values and traditions not written in the Bible. The Catholic Church has preserved sacred traditions and practices established by Jesus.

“I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if anyone adds to them, God will add to him the plagues which are written in this book; and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his part from the tree of life and from the holy city, which are written in this book.” Revelations 22:18-19

A Catholic Bible is the complete Bible. No books were omitted or added. A Catholic Bible contains all the teachings of Christ, in its fullness.

About Jon Jon

Welcome to Glorified Supply Co. We are a retail business that supports, encourages, and shares good deeds. My name is John Ulep, but please call me "Jon Jon". Thank you for taking the time to visit our blog and our online store. I am blessed and grateful to have people who support my brand and my mission to DO MORE GOOD through GOD. "That in all things God may be glorified"

Posted on December 2, 2011, in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is great. I have never heard it put so well. Thanks for sharing. God Bless, SR

  2. Glad you enjoyed it. Please share this link to others so they may also enjoy it. Have a blessed day. Aloha!

  3. Great post John. As a joyful addition, I would recommend the RSV-CE which is a the Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition that is put out by Ignatius Press. I think it communicates one of the best translations of the original languages for the full and integral whole of Scripture.
    It is found here:
    http://www.ignatius.com/Products/IB2-H/ignatius-bible-rsv-2nd-edition.aspx

  4. RSV-CE…yes, its a bible that I want to get now because it’s a closer translation. Thank you for the comment and for the link! ALOHA FROM HAWAII…

Leave a Reply

