Jacki O. Introduction – Prayer lady!

My name is Jacki O. and I am in my second year at Arizona State studying Secondary Education with a focus in History. I don’t write professionally by any means, but it is definitely a hobby of mine. I was baptized Catholic and attended Mass every Sunday in my childhood up until I was about nine years old when I moved towns. I had loved going to Mass as a child, but my family just kind of stopped going when we got to our new town. After that I only attended, or even paid attention to the faith, about three times a year. Years and years went by and my beliefs started to fade. I went through many things in that time (no friends, depression, eating disorders, etc.) and was falling backwards quickly. Towards the end of my senior year in high school, I started feeling a type of calling to start going to Mass on Sundays again. After a few weeks of attending again, I wanted to find out how to get involved in a youth group or how to start bringing this into my life again. Thinking back to it, it was the grace of God alone pushing me in this direction. (He loves us in such wonderful and patient ways :) ) I tried to get more involved, but something just wasn’t right. I had been thinking about Catholicism and Jesus and all that more than I ever had before during the summer between my senior year of high school and my first year in college. The day before classes started I was walking around the campus trying to get myself oriented and I passed by the old church on our campus (which I had wanted to go into forever!) where the Newman Center’s table was outside. Everyone was really friendly and they invited me to their first college night of the year the next day (the very first day of classes). I was so excited to go and I am so glad I did. Everyone was super friendly and inviting. I felt at home there. Over the next few weeks we went on their New Student Getaway, and there is where I can officially say my life changed for good. I had officially seen the love of Jesus and I knew there was no going back. I had prayed for this for a while, but I wasn’t expecting this. So many amazing things have happened between then and now and I know more will continue happening. I can’t wait to share some of those things and what I have learned about prayer with you all!

Posted on October 31, 2011, in Introduction, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. very good submit, i actually love this web site, carry on it

  2. I can’t wait to read them either! Thanks so much for helping me out with this project! ♥

Leave a Reply

