Hey ya’ll!

“This is my command- be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the lord your God is with you wherever you go.”~ Joshua 1:9

My name is Clarissa Mae. I am currently a student at the College of Idaho and am studying Biology. I am aspiring to become a doctor. My goal is to go to medical school after I finish off at CofI after that I dream of joining Doctors Without Borders (http://www.doctorswithoutborders.org/index.cfm). I have always admired Mother Teresa and all that she did for the sick of Calcutta, she is what inspired my dreams of becoming a doctor and helping the less fortunate. I have always been called to be a servant of God. I enjoy helping those in need whether it is donating clothes or just listening.

For the past two summers I have been able to go on mission trips with a friend and her church. Both years we went to Native American Reservations, one in Wyoming and another in Arizona. It was so cool to learn about these communities. The Native American people are beautiful! I loved talking to them and hearing their stories and seeing them dance. I was drawn closer to God on one of these trips. We were painting a ladies house as part of our trip. It was a lot of fun! The lady came out one day and told us how excited she was to have her house painted yellow (it was previously grey) that she needed light in her life. She told us stories of one of her family members being beaten to death and another dying in a drunk driving accident. This lady had incredible faith she was strong and confident that God would help her through her tough time. Her daughter was in a horrible accident and the doctors told her there was no way she would ever be the same and that the daughter should just be put in a home so she wouldn’t burden the family. But this lady told the doctors no. She brought her daughter home retaught her to read and write. It was an amazing story! The daughter even came out and talked with us for a long time! This old lady taught me to never give up, especially on the ones you love. I realized that I may be going through a tough time but if i turned to God he would get me through it.

Aside from mission trips I enjoying playing the Viola and Guitar, reading, and I LOVE to watch movies. I can’t even begin to list my favorite movies or books. I also enjoy camping and hiking, I find that I am closest to God when I do these things. I love to admire God’s canvas, looking at his creations make me so happy!

There isn’t much I don’t like. However there are a few foods I don’t like, for example fish, mushrooms, and cottage cheese are all icky to me. It really bothers me when people don’t text/email/call me back even if it isn’t that important it’s nice to know that you got my message!

I look forward to writing more blogs and learning so much more about our faith!

Posted on December 11, 2011, in Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

